FAQs & Knowledge Base

Welcome to our Knowledge Base. Search or browse through the topics below to find answers to your questions.

Categories: TreeSize | Show all categories

TreeSize can scan Linux / UNIX servers using the SSH protocol (see "Scan Targets"). Alternatively, If Samba is installed and running on the Linux / UNIX system, then our tools can access a share on this system using its UNC name, e.g. \\ComputerName\ShareName. If the file system on the Linux / UNIX system is accessible through NFS, then it can be accessed if the NFS support for Windows is installed. For Windows 7 higher (Professional / Enterprise Edition) please go to the Control Panel and activate the "Services for NFS" under "Programs and Features > Turn Windows Features on or off". Then you can mount an NFS share to a drive letter using this command:
mount \\ComputerName\ShareName N:
It might be necessary to create the following registry values if you have trouble connecting the NFS drive:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\ClientForNFS\CurrentVersion\Default\AnonymousUidas DWORD with the decimal value 10011.
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\ClientForNFS\CurrentVersion\Default\AnonymousGidas DWORD with the decimal value 10012.

The easiest way is to use the button Check for update on the Help ribbon bar, it will check for new available versions and install them.

Within your maintenance period you can download the latest version of TreeSize from our customer area. The login details for our customer area have been emailed to you after the purchase and are printed on the license document. To upgrade older versions, simply run the installation file. Your user settings will still be preserved during the upgrade.

There are 3 possible reasons why "UNREGISTERED" still shows up:
1. You did not download and install the full version from our customer area
2. You have accidentally installed the trial version again. (Have you been asked for an installation key during installation?)
3. You have installed the full version to a different folder than the trial version which is now still on your disk.

We do not work with activation codes because you can find them very easily on the internet. Typically software manufacturers protect against this problem using online activation, but this would make customer dependent on the availability of our activation servers and an internet connection.
We are working with separate trial and full versions instead, where the full version is not freely available for download and must be installed over the trial version. After purchasing our software, customers get an account for our customer area where they can download the full version for at least 12 months. Our customers will also receive a personalized installation key, with which they can install the full version. Login data and key should be stored in a safe place. Installing the full version over the trial version will preserve your existing data and settings.

You have to download the full version of the software from our customer area. The login data can be found in the email or in the printed license which you have received after the purchase. If you do not have your login data any more, you can request them to be sent to the email address that you have used for purchasing the software.

There is no need to uninstall the trial version, just install the full version over the trial version, you settings will be preserved.